Tienanmen Square, 1989

Spring 1989, Beijing. One of the most brutal state crime. Half a million students, intellectuals and workers march to the main square of the capital to demand more political freedoms, freedom of expression, freedom to plan their school life, their working life, their family’s life, the number of their children. They are not armed, but they have flowers in their hands.

This photo, that potray an unkown rebel, became the symbol of the struggle against tyranny.

But the Chinese dictatorial regime doesn’t swallow the insult and the night between the 3rd and the 4th of June orders the military convoys to enter Beijing by making way through the barricades of protesters, who react by throwing stones and petrol bombs at the soldiers. The army is ordered to clear the square by dawn and at 4:30 a.m starts shooting at civilians, treading with tanks’ caterpillars hundreds of boys and girls. At 5:40 the square is cleared. The number of civilians killed has never been established. According to the Chinese government the victims – including soldiers – would be 241 and people wounded are  7,000. According to NATO 7,000 people were killed and 30,000 wounded.

257276Tiananmen, that means “the Gate of Heavenly Peace” in Chinese, was stained with the blood of China’s children. The following day the square was covered with thousands of dead bodies deformed by the tracks of the T-72. China suppressed with blood the demand for freedom of its youth. Today in China no one can talk about, write about that episode or even remember it. This article will never be read beyond the Great Wall.

Maybe the crime states’ motive is the worst one: they kill men who, driven by ideals, fight for that word that in some areas of the world and in China itself is still forbidden: FREEDOM!

Filomena Crocco

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Chinese repression, Criminal Minds, English, State crimes, Tienanmen Square 1989, unknown rebel e contrassegnata con , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

106 risposte a Tienanmen Square, 1989

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  2. moa field ha detto:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  3. I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I will take a note of your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  4. I was suggested this blog beside my cousin. I am not absolutely whether this forward is on paper before him being refusal lone besides be familiar with such exhaustive almost my conundrum. You are breathtaking! Thanks!

  5. Hello.This article was extremely remarkable, particularly since I was looking for thoughts on this matter last Friday.

  6. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers

Lascia un commento

